About the Award

Now in its fourth year, the Accessible eLearning Leadership (AeLL) Award recognizes individuals and organizations who, over the past 12 months, have demonstrated leadership, through their actions and advocacy, in advancing the cause of universal accessibility and usability in eLearning. 

Producing accessible e-Learning has been an elusive goal for many. Although accessibility laws are found in virtually every country, too often compliance is either non-existent or an afterthought. And while those who use assistive technologies arguably have the most to gain from online education, compliance often means, at best, a "plain HTML" or "PDF" version of an e-Learning course.  This award recognizes organizations the help change that paradigm.

The Accessible eLearning Leadership Awards recognizes those organizations that have demonstrated a leadership role in the area of accessible e-Learning - e-Learning courses that serve both those learners who use assistive technologies and those who do not without the need to create multiple versions of each course.

As part of recognizing these leading organizations, a donation will be made on their behalf to the Spectrios Institute for Low Vision (www.spectrios.org) – an organization that provides comprehensive visual rehabilitation programs that includes a low vision evaluation, counseling, and teaching the skills of daily living and the use of technology.

To Submit a Nomination

Click on the “Nominations” link to complete and submit and online nomination of an individual or organization you feel has put forth an exemplary effort on behalf of eLearning accessibility and usability.

Nominations will close at midnight on December 31st, 2013, and all nominations must be submitted online.

> NEW-> 2013 NOMINATIONS: You may now access the 2013 Application to submit your entry.

Read about the 2012 Accessible e-Learning Leadership Winners.

View the official 2103 Press Releases:

CourseAvenue Logo

A donation to

Spectrios Institute
for Low Vision

will be made on behalf
of each of the winners.

to the
recognized leaders
for 2012!


   The NEA Foundation

   Veolia Environmental Services